Riigikogu supported visa-free working holidays in Japan for young Estonian adults

The Riigikogu ratified the Act on the Ratification of the Arrangements for Working Holidays between the Government of the Republic of Estonia and the Government of Japan, which allows Estonia and Japan to issue multiple-entry working holiday visas to their citizens of 18 to 30 years of age with the duration of up to one year.

The bilateral agreement allows both Japanese and Estonian young adults to work without previously registering their visa with the Police and Border Guard Board. The Japanese government determines the number of visas that may be issued to Estonian citizens annually.

The agreement will enter into force 120 days after Estonia notifies Japan of the completion of the national procedure necessary for issuing working holiday visas to Japanese citizens.

The agreement will tighten relations between Estonia and Japan, support youth tourism, allow people to stay longer in the country, and seek short-term employment in addition to holidaying.

Estonia has previously concluded similar agreements with Australia, New Zealand, and Canada.


Source: Riigikogu